Winners of 2019 World Teachers Awards

18 October 2019


For immediate release

Teachers’ Guild of NSW announces winners of 2019 World Teachers Awards

On Friday October 25th, The Teachers’ Guild of New South Wales will hold its 2019 World Teachers Celebration at the Concord Golf Club, to award the outstanding professional contribution to education made by a select group of teachers.

“This important occasion allows us to celebrate and acknowledge the achievements of all our teachers in an increasingly complex, multicultural and technological society,” said Dr Frederick Osman, President Teachers’ Guild of NSW.

The Teachers’ Guild of NSW greatly admires the commitment of teachers in enhancing their professional knowledge, improving teaching practice, finding new ways to engage with students, and developing and fostering relationships with the wider community.

This year, 230 guests will gather to celebrate the presentation of awards presented by special guest The Hon. Sarah Mitchell, MP, Minister for Education. The event will honor 68 worthy recipients across the different sectors and stages of education.

Award for teachers in their early years of teaching

Primary School Division finalists

April Bryson, Lakes Grammar School, Warnervale

Taylor Graham, Barker College

Emily McMahon, Abbotsleigh

Lauren Taylor, St Philip’s Christian School, Cessnock

Senior School Division finalists

Chris Crimmins, St Paul’s Grammar School, Cranebrook

Zachary Ellul, St Joseph Catholic High School

Zachary Gorton, Macarthur Anglican School

Jeremy Hawkes, Radford College, ACT

Diana Webster, Abbotsleigh

The Guild Scholarship winner

Nathan Archer, University of Sydney

The Research Award finalists

Helen Baber, University of New South Wales

Keiko Bostwick, University of New South Wales

Andrew Eaton, Wollondilly Anglican College

Olivia Karaolis, University of Sydney

Jake Little, University of Sydney

Cherry Zin Oo, University of New South Wales

Eun Kyong Park, University of New South Wales

Honorary Fellowship of the Teachers’ Guild of New South Wales

Melinda Gindy HFTGN

World Teachers’ Recognition Awards

Abderrahim Abbou, Homebush Boys Public School

Lisa Andreatta, Penrith Selective High School

Helen Baber, St Philip's Christian College, Newcastle

Simone Babic, St John Bosco College, Engadine

Ehab Bakour, Granville Boys High School

Katherine Barbeler, Gosford High School

Kim Barber, Shore School

Amber Bidwell, Redlands

Sue Briggs, Penrith Selective High School

Kimberley Burgess, Shore School

Melissa Carson, Champagnat Catholic College

Robin Delucia, Turning Point Consulting

Drew Dickson, Northern Beaches Christian School

Warren Dobes, Shore School

Lauren Doughty, Corowa Public School

Bridget Farrell, Pittwater House

Nathan Fepulea’i, Lakes Grammar - An Anglican School

Cathy Forrester, Sydney Catholic Schools, T/L Directorate

Hannah Frater, Jindabyne Central School

Donna Garland, Gordon West Public School

Bridget Goldthorp, Gordon West Public School

Monique Holburn, Metella Road Public School

Amanda Holland, Lakes Grammar - An Anglican School

Aidan Johnson, John Therry Catholic School

Belinda Jones, Thomas Reddall High School

Kerry Kelaher, Mount Riverview Public School

Michael Leadbeatter, Trinity Grammar School

Sandra Love, Granville Boys High School

Kate Maher, Thomas Reddall High School

Ashleigh Maihi, MLC School

Antoinetta Marchetta, Penrith Selective High School

Alastair McCallum, Barker College

Michelle McKinnon, St Therese Catholic Primary School, Sadleir

Michael Murphy, Northern Beaches Christian School

Rachel Nugent, Lakes Grammar - An Anglican School

Justin O’Neill, St Joachim's Catholic Primary School, Lidcombe

Maryellen Ottaway, Trinity Grammar School

Phil Pratt, Trinity Grammar School

Noroja Rouzbehi, Department of Education

Andy Sexton, Sylvania Height Public School

Joanne Short, Kingswood Campus, TAFE

Stellina Sim, Redlands

Michelle Smith, Lakes Grammar - An Anglican School

Christie Staniforth, St John Bosco College, Engadine

Robert Stuart, St Philips Christian College – Newcastle

Jay Trevaskis, Covenant Christian School

Dale Wellham, Camden High School

Jessica Wickenden, Shore School

Jessica Xerub, Gordon West Public School

Mandy Young, Sylvania Height Public School

“The Guild congratulates all award recipients for their incredible achievements,” concluded Dr Osman.


Media contact:



The Teachers’ Guild of New South Wales

PO Box 649 Moorebank NSW 1875

T: 02 8396 7381

M: 0418 444 477

Featured Posts
Recent Posts