top of page

Teachers’ Guild of NSW announces winners of 2018 World Teachers Awards

On Friday October 26, on World Teachers’ Day, the Teachers’ Guild of New South Wales held its 2018 World Teachers Celebration at the Concord Golf Club, to award the outstanding professional contribution to education made by a select group of teachers.

“This important occasion allows us to celebrate and acknowledge the achievements of all our teachers in an increasingly complex, multicultural and technological society,” said Dr Frederick Osman, President Teachers’ Guild of NSW.

The Teachers’ Guild of NSW greatly admires the commitment of teachers in enhancing their professional knowledge, improving teaching practice, finding new ways to engage with students, and developing and fostering relationships with the wider community.

This year, 208 guests gathered to celebrate the presentation of awards presented by special guests The Hon. (Rob) Robert Gordon Stokes, MP, Minister for Education, Mr Jihad Dib, Member for Lakemba, Shadow Minister for Education and Mr Damien Tudehope, Member for Epping. The event honored 57 worthy recipients across the different sectors and stages of education.

Award for teachers in their early years of teaching:

Primary School Division finalists:

  • Rebecca Flannery, Kincoppal Rose Bay

  • John Forbes, Blue Mountains Grammar

  • Mark Gannon, Trinity Grammar School

  • Brenton Herbert, Lakes Grammar School

The 2018 Primary School Division WINNER was MARK GANNON from Trinity Grammar School who commented: “It is incredibly humbling to be selected as a winner and I feel blessed to be in the position that I am in today. It is a great reflection of the culture of support and collegiality at Trinity Grammar Preparatory School. I am the teacher that I am today because of the teachers that surround, challenge and inspire me every day.”

Senior School Division finalists:

  • Jason Borg, Georges River Grammar

  • Allyse Miskle, St John Bosco College, Engadine

  • Katie Szwecow, De La Salle College, Ashfield

  • Sara Vassallo, Radford College, ACT